Mayabeque harmoniously combines beaches, coasts, cliffs, coral reefs, steep cliffs, mangroves, coastal lagoons, rivers and areas with well-preserved vegetation. All this together with a wide gastronomic offer and excellent accommodation facilities, make the province an ideal place to enjoy a holiday in a healthy and natural environment.

Mayabeque Province is one of two new provinces created  from the former La Habana Province on August 1st, 2010. Its name comes from the Mayabeque River and the beach of the same name on the south coast. The capital of this province is the city of San Jose de las Lajas. 

It is the smallest province of the country with the exception of Havana and the least populated. San Jose also becomes the smaller provincial capital of Cuba. Its relief is characterized by coastal rocky hills and extensive plains in the south  and mangrove areas.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s